Academic Council to Natural Sciences

The Academic Council ensures collaboration and interdisciplinary development both within the faculty and across faculties, and thereby contribute to the overall development of the university.

The Academic Council ensures the continuous involvement of staff and students in order to make sure that these groups have influence on the management and development of the faculty. The council's task is to ensure transparency and legitimacy in all decisions on academic issues, and through regular discussions about the faculty's core activities, the council is a guarantor for academically responsible management of such issues, particularly with regard to research and education. Members of the Academic Council help secure quality assurance and stimulate new ideas and proposals.




Birgit Schiøtt

Adademic staff

Department of Biology: Trine Bilde

Department of Computer Science: Jaco van de Pol

Department of Physics and Astronomy: Michael Drewsen

Department of Geoscience: Ole Rønø Clausen

Department of Chemistry: N.N.

Department of Mathematics: Jan Frahm

Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics: Bjørn Panyella Pedersen

Interdisciplinary Nanoscience Centre (iNANO): Rikke Louise Meyer

PhD students

Simon Peter Slot Jessen

Heiðrikur í Garði Mortensen


Daniel Kristoffer S. Hjort (Mathematics, Mathematical-economy, Datalogy, IT Product development. BA: Datascience. Master: Statistics, Scientific studies, Bioinformatics)

Melissa Toft Furman (Biology, Molecular biology og Molecular medicine)

Technical and administrative staff (observers)

Else Magaard

Anne Færch Nielsen 

Yvonne Eskildsen-Helmond

Representative of AU's Junior Researcher Association - observer by invitation of the Academic Council


Student representative (Physics, Nanoscience, Chemistry, Medicinal chemistry. BA: Geoscience. Master: Astronomy, Geophysics, Geology) - obsever by invitation of the Academic Council

Emma Elvira Tranberg Christiansen